Rate this item
(0 votes)

Somali of Ethiopia

Most Somalis live in Somalia, however over four million reside in Ethiopia. Clan groupings are a very important part of Somali society.   The Somali Region (Somali: Gobolka Soomaalida) is the eastern-most of the nine ethnic divisions (kililoch) of Ethiopia. It is often called Soomaaliya Galbeed ("Western Somalia") on account of its geographical position within the Greater Somalia matrix. The capital of the Somali State is Jijiga. Previously, it had been centered at Kebri Dahar (Qabridahare) until 1992, when it was moved to Gode/Godey. On April 1994, the capital was moved again to its present location on account of political considerations. Other major towns and cities include (Somali spelling in brackets): Degehabur (Dhagaxbuur), Kebri Dahar (Qabridahare), Shilavo (Shilaabo), Geladin (Geladi), Kelafo (Qalaafe), Werder (Wardheer) and Shinile (Shiniile). The province borders the Ethiopian regions of Oromia, Afar and Dire Dawa (Diridhawa) to the west, Djibouti to the north, Somalia to the north, east and south, and Kenya to the south-west. The Somali Region covers much of the traditional territory of Ogaden and it formed a large part of the pre-1995 province of Hararghe.